College Football Finally Has a Playoff Format

Christmas has come early for College Football Fans this summer in the form of a 4-team playoff format to determine a champion.

An oversight committee made up of college presidents and chancellors have determined that there will be a selection committee selecting the 4 best teams (they haven’t revealed the criteria yet) that will play, and the sites will rotate among 6 bowls. This playoff goodness starts in the 2014 season. We are down to the last 2 years of the BCS, and quite frankly, it has entered “lame-duck” status. The new playoff deal will be a 12-year deal.

My hunch is the six sites will be the Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA), Fiesta Bowl (Glendale, AZ), Cotton Bowl (Dallas, TX), Sugar Bowl (New Orléans, LA), Chick-Fil-A Bowl (in Atlanta, GA; formerly known as the Peach Bowl) and Orange Bowl (Miami, FL) will be the 6 sites included in this exclusive club.

How about that… College Football will finally have a true champion starting with the 2014 season… and, here’s hoping WVU makes history and becomes the first real College Football National Champion.

Caleb Wygal

Caleb was born and raised in Summersville, West Virginia and created WVU Pros in 2011. He has published two novels: Moment of Impact and A Murder in Concord. You can follow him on Twitter @calebwygal.

Comments Closed

Comments are closed