College Football Finally Has a Playoff Format

College Football Finally Has a Playoff Format

, / 305 0

Christmas has come early for College Football Fans this summer in the form of a 4-team playoff format to determine a champion.

An oversight committee made up of college presidents and chancellors have determined that there will be a selection committee selecting the 4 best teams (they haven’t revealed the criteria yet) that will play, and the sites will rotate among 6 bowls. This playoff goodness starts in the 2014 season. We are down to the last 2 years of the BCS, and quite frankly, it has entered “lame-duck” status. The new playoff deal will be a 12-year deal.

My hunch is the six sites will be the Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA), Fiesta Bowl (Glendale, AZ), Cotton Bowl (Dallas, TX), Sugar Bowl (New Orléans, LA), Chick-Fil-A Bowl (in Atlanta, GA; formerly known as the Peach Bowl) and Orange Bowl (Miami, FL) will be the 6 sites included in this exclusive club.

How about that… College Football will finally have a true champion starting with the 2014 season… and, here’s hoping WVU makes history and becomes the first real College Football National Champion.

Comments Closed